Twelve MBL Affiliates Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Twelve MBL Affiliates Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Twelve members of the MBL’s research, education, and alumni communities have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.” Election to the Academy is widely considered a mark of excellence in science, and is one of the highest honors a scientist can attain.

The NAS is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Along with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, the NAS provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Congratulations to:

James N. Galloway, University of Virginia
MBL Trustee, 2001-present; MBL Society member; Whitman Scientist, 2010, 2014

Lawrence S. Goldstein, University of California, San Diego
Faculty, Physiology, 1985, 1986

Anthony A. Hyman, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics
Faculty, Physiology, 2005-2008, 2018; Whitman Scientist, 2016, 2017

Bo Barker Jorgensen, Aarhus University
Faculty, Microbial Ecology, 1980

Elizabeth A. Kellogg, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
Alumna, Molecular Evolution, 1989

Margaret S. Livingstone, Harvard Medical School
Alumna, Neurobiology, 1975; Faculty, Neural Systems & Behavior, 1984, 1990; Faculty, Brains, Minds and Machines, 2017; Whitman Scientist, 1976

Andrew P. McMahon, University of Southern California
Faculty, Embryology, 1984, 1994

Olivier Pourquié, Harvard Medical School
Faculty, Embryology, 2005, 2006

Michael K. Rosen, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator/University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Whitman Scientist, 2013 – 2017

Alex F. Schier, University of Basel
Faculty, Zebrafish Development & Genetics, 2009 – 2018

Sandra L. Schmid, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Faculty, Physiology, 1989

Erin M. Schuman, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research
Alumna, Neural Systems & Behavior, 1988; Faculty, Neural Systems & Behavior, 1995