Six MBL Affiliates Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Six MBL Affiliates Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Six scientists affiliated with the Marine Biological Laboratory are among the 228 people recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). The inductees include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic leaders.

Congratulations to:

Jeremy M. Berg, American Association for the Advancement of Science/University of Pittsburgh
Faculty, Physiology course (2007)

Edward S. Boyden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Alumnus, Neural Systems and Behavior (NS&B) course (2000), Faculty, NS&B (2011), Faculty, Brains, Minds, and Machines course (2014)

Arturo Casadevall, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Faculty, Molecular Mycology course (1997, 1998, 2002)

Nicholas Alexander Christakis, Yale University
Faculty, Neurobiology course (1981-1983)

Darcy B. Kelley, Columbia University
Faculty or Co-Director, NS&B course (1980-1989)
Faculty, Methods in Computational Neuroscience course (1998-2001)
Faculty, NS&B course (2000)
MBL Trustee (1994-2007)
Whitman Scientist (2015, 2016)

Pamela S. Soltis, University of Florida
Faculty, Molecular Evolution course (1997)

The AAAS encompasses over 4,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among the Academy’s fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
 Photo: Ed Boyden. Credit: Grete Lundbeck