Six MBL Affiliates Elected to National Academy of Medicine

National Academy of Medicine Logo

Six members of the MBL’s research, education, and alumni communities have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) in recognition of their “outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.” Election to the Academy is widely considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.

The NAM was established as the “Institute of Medicine” in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences. Along with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences, the NAM provides independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions.

Congratulations to:

Daniel Colón-Ramos, Yale University School of Medicine
MBL Fellow, 2017-Present; Whitman Fellow, 2013-2014; Faculty, Neural Systems and Behavior, 2015-2016; Summer Program in Neuroscience, Excellence and Success (SPINES), 2015; Alumnus, Physiology, 2000

Scott Fraser, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
MBL Society Member; Whitman Fellow, 1979; Course Director, Embryology, 1997-2001; Course Faculty, Embryology, 1990-1995, 2000, 2004-2008, 2011; Alumnus, Embryology 1977

Marc Lipsitch, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Alumnus, Molecular Evolution, 1994

Aviv Regev, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Faculty, Physiology, 2019

Amy Wagner, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Alumna, Rapid Electrochemistry, 2002

Xiaowei Zhuang, Harvard University
Faculty, Physiology, 2005