Fourteen MBL Affiliates Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Fourteen MBL Affiliates Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Fourteen members of the MBL’s research, education, and alumni communities have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.” Election to the Academy is widely considered a mark of excellence in science and is one of the highest honors a scientist can attain.

The NAS is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Along with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, the NAS provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Congratulations to:

Serap Aksoy, Yale School of Public Health
Course Faculty, Biology of Parasitism, 1998, 2017

Marisa S. Bartolomei, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Course Faculty, Frontiers in Reproduction, 2014

Mary C. Beckerle, Huntsman Cancer Institute; University of Utah
Course Faculty, Physiology, 1985 – 1986; Alumna, Physiology, 1980

Kerry S. Bloom, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Trustee, 1998 – 2000; Science Council 1998 – 2000, 2003 – 2005; Course Director, Physiology 1996-1998; Course Director, Logan Science Journalism Program Biomedical Course, 2004-2008; Course Faculty, Physiology, 1985 – 1990, 1995

Michael L. Dustin, University of Oxford
Whitman Scientist, 2015; Course Faculty, Physiology, 2005

Robert Fettiplace, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Course Faculty, Biology of the Inner Ear, 2015

Joseph Heitman, Duke University School of Medicine
Course Faculty, Molecular Mycology, 1998 – 2012, 2015 – 2019

Laurinda A. Jaffe, University of Connecticut Health Center
MBL Committee on Advanced Courses; MBL Society; Whitman Scientist, 1994; Course Faculty, Neurobiology, 1989; Course Faculty, Embryology 1983-1986; Course Faculty, Frontiers in Reproduction, 1998 – 2008; Alumna, Physiology, 1978

John H. Maunsell, Grossman Institute for Neuroscience; University of Chicago
Course Faculty, Methods in Computational Neuroscience, 1994 – 1995

Mary Ann Moran, University of Georgia
Alumna, Microbiology, 1987

Margaret Phillips, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Course Director, Biology of Parasitism, 2006 – 2007; Course Faculty, Biology of Parasitism, 1998 – 1999

Ellen V. Rothenberg, California Institute of Technology
Course Faculty, Gene Regulatory Networks, 2009 – 2016, 2018

Edward D. Salmon, University of North Carolina
MBL Society; Whitman Scientist 1989, 1994, 1999 – 2004, 2007 – 2009; Course Faculty, Physiology, 1990 – 1993, 1996; Course Faculty, AQLM, 1996 – 2012; Alumnus, Physiology, 1971

Julie A. Theriot, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; University of Washington
Course Faculty, Physiology, 2008 – 2018; Course Faculty, Physical Biology of the Cell, 2016, 2017, 2019

See the full list of newly elected members